22 Sep

Amy Prichard wins Goeddel Chancellor’s Award!

Amy is honored to have won the David V. Goeddel Chancellor’s Award, a UC San Diego School of Biological Sciences award that supports outstanding students in the department. She was recognized for her achievements in research, such as her thesis work on diverse Erwinia chimalliviruses such as RAY and Asesino, her recent publication on Erwinia phage RAY, and her extraordinary efforts in mentorship of undergraduate and early graduate students in the Pogliano lab. To learn more about Amy’s project, keep your eyes peeled for a press release coming soon from UCSD that focuses on her recent publication and its importance for the field of phage biology, its broader impact, and how it helped a class of undergraduates get their foot in the door of research.

RAY and Asesino, image courtesy of Amy Prichard

22 Aug

Taylor Forman joins the lab!

Taylor is a graduate student in the Biology PhD program, and will be jointly advised by Joe Pogliano and Justin Meyer. Welcome, Taylor!

18 Aug

Kyle and Meline present at the Summer Research Conference

Kyle Thomas and Meline Norquist presented their findings from the summer in a talk entitled “Investigating the Roles of Core Genes in the Nucleus-Forming Phage Life Cycle” at the Summer Research Conference. Meline and Kyle were each awarded Undergraduate Research Scholarships from the School of Biological Sciences to work in the Pogliano lab this summer. Congratulations Meline and Kyle!

28 Apr

Linda Li joins the lab!

Linda is a graduate student in the Biomedical Sciences PhD program and will collaborate with the John Glass lab at JCVI. Welcome, Linda!

03 Aug

Jumbo Phage collaboration featured by UC San Diego Today, HHMI

Work from our collaboration with the labs of Elizabeth Villa, Kevin Corbett, and Rommie Amaro was featured in an article from UC San Diego Today and a press release by the Howard Hughes Medical Institute (HHMI). This work investigates formation of the phage nuclear shell during 201φ2-1 infection of Pseudomonas chlororaphis (Laughlin & Deep et al. Nature 2022).

Congratulations to first authors Tom & Amar, and Pogliano lab co-authors Amy, Eray, Kanika, Erica, and Emily!